Women in Research Methods (WRM)

Women in Research Methods (WRM) is a forum for women in management and the organizational sciences who share an interest in research methods. The group is open to academic faculty members and doctoral students at all career levels as well as organizational psychologists and management practitioners with a keen interest in research methods scholarship and application. In this group, we share interests, questions, concerns, and advice on writing methods papers, using methods, teaching methods, integrating methods research in an academic career, adapting methods to applied problems and settings, and other issues related to both qualitative and quantitative methods. Our purpose is also to connect research methodologists with each other, provide mentorship and networking opportunities to budding research methodologists, and to flag opportunities for increased involvement of research methods scholarship in our careers.

WRM is a Facebook community group that was started by Dr. Lisa Schurer Lambert and Dr. Tine Köhler. Please direct questions to Lisa (lisa.schurer.lambert@okstate.edu) and join us on Facebook if you are interested.We encourage all posters to be polite and respectful, constructive and developmental. This is a closed group, which means that new members are vetted before entry and that we consider conversations on this forum to be confidential.

Launch Pad Session- How to Make Research Methods Part of your Career

If you have always had an interest in methods, like learning about and applying new methods, are constantly on the lookout for new research methods innovations, cannot wait to get your hands on the newest issue of Organizational Research Methods, and would like to belong to one of the most supportive and friendly academic communities in our field, then you should consider making research methods part of your career. Yet, if you are like most researchers, you may not know exactly how to get your foot in the door, how to conceptualize your first methods-related research project, or who to partner with to contribute to the most cutting-edge research. If so, this session is for you.

Join us for a virtual panel discussion on how to include Research Methods in your Career.  The panel of experts, known for their work in research methods, will speak about their own experiences as methodologists. Topics include how to look for opportunities to make a methodological contribution, how to find resources they need (tools, co-authors, advice etc.), and issues related to finding a job and seeking tenure. Participants may submit questions ahead of time and ask questions in real time.

Participants enrolled in a CARMA short course (Asia, Europe, and South American region) may register for the panel session which will be held virtually on July 17th, from 8:00 am to 10:00 am (EST). You can find the local times for different regions below. There is no charge for participation. Please register by following the steps below.

Organized by Tine Köhler (University of Melbourne) and Lisa Schurer Lambert (Oklahoma State University) and supported by CARMA and Organizational Research Methods.

Region Local Time
Tel Aviv 3 pm – 5 pm
Sao Paulo 9 am – 11 am
Melbourne 10 pm -12 am
India 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm
New York 8 am – 10 am

Panelists

Lisa Lambert, Oklahoma State University, USA
Ann Cunliffe, FGV-EAESP, BRAZIL
Janaki Gooty, UNCC, USA
Tine Koehler, Melbourne University, AUSTRALIA
Zitong Sheng, Curtin University, AUSTRALIA
Catherine Welch, University of Sydney, AUSTRALIA

Registration Instructions

To register for “Launch Pad Session”, please follow the steps below.

1. Log in to your CARMA account

2. Click “Purchase Short Courses” on the right side of the page

3. Select “Launch Pad Session-July 17, 2020”

4. Checkout

Previous Sessions

Europe – 06/17/20

WATCH NOW

North America – 06/03/20

WATCH NOW